The Cape Breton Partnership brings together people who believe in the power of working together to increase economic opportunities and aims to transform Cape Breton-Unama’ki into the most creative and prosperous place on Earth.

Strategic Goals

The Cape Breton Partnership supports companies and entrepreneurs through our projects and initiatives by:

promoting

our island as a great place to live, work, and invest.

growing

a culture that values and celebrates creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

connecting

entrepreneurs and companies to the resources they need to succeed.

2020 - 2021

Year in Review

2020 - 2021

Year in Review

The 2020-2021 Year in Review includes an update on a number of initiatives, programs, and services the Cape Breton Partnership has led and carried out over that calendar year.

View Report

Board of Directors

The Cape Breton Partnership was formed with the idea of uniting businesses and communities across Cape Breton to drive the economy forward. The Partnership is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community leaders from the public and private sectors.

Brian Purchase

Vice-Chair

Schwartz Furniture

Dan MacDonald

Executive Member

CBCL Ltd.

Rob Wadden

Treasurer

Grant Thornton

Sandra Kanchuk

Board Chair

Seaside Wireless Communications Inc.

Adam Bateman

BDC

Allan Eddy

Port Hawkesbury Paper LP

Alyssia Jedore

Eskasoni Corporate

Brad Jacobs

Colbourne Auto Group

Damien Barry

Louisbourg Seafoods

Howie Doiron

Lindsay Construction

James Wooder

JBW Consulting Inc.

Jen Ryan

Quincy Street Market

Jennifer Martin

Membertou First Nation

Osborne Burke

Victoria Co-operative Fisheries Ltd.

Paul Breski

Nova Scotia Power

Ron Blinkhorn

Casino Nova Scotia - Sydney

Shaowei Xu

SW East International Trading & Consulting

Tracey Boutilier

Vibe Creative Group

Vivek Saxena

Strait Area Campus, Nova Scotia Community College

Our Team

The team at the Cape Breton Partnership consists of an energetic and dedicated team of individuals with a broad range of skills and expertise, including project management, labour and immigration, communications and marketing, business planning, and economic development to name a few.

CONTACT US

Tyler Mattheis

President & Chief Executive Officer

902-562-0122

tyler@capebretonpartnership.com

Ashton Bishop

Bookkeeper/Administration

902-562-0122

ashton@capebretonpartnership.com

Ayha El-Darahali

Manager, Workplace Inclusion Charter

902-562-0122

ayha@capebretonpartnership.com

Bill Culp

Creative Economy Development Officer

9025620122

bill@capebretonpartnership.com

Blayr Billard

Director of Finance and Administration

902-562-0122

blayr@capebretonpartnership.com

Carly Appleton

Communications Coordinator

902-562-0122

carly@capebretonpartnership.com

Colleen Wheeliker

Executive Assistant

902-562-7182

colleen@capebretonpartnership.com

Courtney Jennex

Administrative Coordinator

902-562-0122

courtney@capebretonpartnership.com

Denis Thibeault

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

9025620122

denis@capebretonpartnership.com

Erica Holgate

Economic Development Officer, Victoria County

902-562-0122

erica@capebretonpartnership.com

Jeremy Martell

Director of Communications

902-562-0122

jeremy@capebretonpartnership.com

Jessica MacDonald

Human Resources Advisor

902-562-0122

jessica@capebretonpartnership.com

Kailea Pedley

Cape Breton Local Immigration Partnership Program Manager

902-258-7331

kailea@capebretonpartnership.com

Kate Collinet

Digital Marketing Specialist

902-562-0122

kate@capebretonpartnership.com

Kelly MacKinnon

Labour Market & Immigration Advisor

902-562-0122

kelly@capebretonpartnership.com

Lan Zheng

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

902-562-0122

lan@capebretonpartnership.com

Lynne MacLennan

Economic Development Officer, Inverness County

902-631-5440

lynne@capebretonpartnership.com

Megan Watt

Economic Development Officer, Richmond County & Town of Port Hawkesbury

902-777-7739

mwatt@capebretonpartnership.com

Michaela Epifano

Communications & Events Coordinator

902-562-0122

michaela@capebretonpartnership.com

Norma Jean MacPhee

Cape Breton Welcome Network Coordinator

902-562-0122

normajean@capebretonpartnership.com

Regional Enterprise Networks (RENs)

The Cape Breton Partnership provides economic development support to all five Municipalities on the Island, and four First Nation communities, under the Regional Enterprise Network (REN) model in partnership with the Province of Nova Scotia. The Cape Breton Regional Enterprise Network (CBREN) includes the First Nation Communities of Eskasoni, Membertou, Wagmatcook, and We’koqma’q; the Municipalities of the Counties of Inverness, Richmond, and Victoria; and the Town of Port Hawkesbury. The CBRM Regional Enterprise Network (CBRM REN) is represented by the Cape Breton Regional Municipality. Both RENs are a part of a larger network of Regional Enterprise Networks across Nova Scotia.

For more information on the CBREN and CBRM REN, review the updated overview documents (updated May 2022) below which contain information on core activities, governance and oversight, current board members, and key delivery areas.

 

 

Through the Regional Enterprise Networks, Cape Breton Partnership staff are based across the region in Baddeck, Port Hood, Arichat, Port Hawkesbury, and Sydney.

For more information on local Cape Breton – Unama’ki communities, visit WelcomeToCapeBreton.ca and our developed community profiles.

The current Board of the CBREN includes:

Allan Eddy, Port Hawkesbury Paper 
Osborne Burke, Victoria Co-op Fisheries 
Alyssia Jeddore, Eskasoni Corporate Division
Vivek Saxena, NSCC Strait Area Campus
Adam Bateman, Business Development Bank of Canada 
Jen Ryan, Quincy Street Market
Jennifer Martin, Membertou First Nation

The current Board of the CBRM REN includes:
Tracey Boutilier, Vibe Creative Group
Brad Jacobs, Colbourne Auto Group
Damien Barry, Louisbourg Seafoods
Howie Doiron, Lindsay Construction
James Wooder, JBW Consulting
Ron Blinkhorn, Casino Nova Scotia – Sydney