The Cape Breton Partnership brings together people who believe in the power of working together to increase economic opportunities and aims to transform Unama’ki - Cape Breton into the most creative and prosperous place on Earth.

Strategic Goals

The Cape Breton Partnership supports companies and entrepreneurs through our projects and initiatives by:

promoting

our island as a great place to live, work, and invest.

growing

a culture that values and celebrates creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship.

connecting

entrepreneurs and companies to the resources they need to succeed.

2022 - 2023

Year in Review

2022 - 2023

Year in Review

The 2022-2023 Year in Review includes an update on a number of initiatives, programs, and services the Cape Breton Partnership has led and carried out over that calendar year.

View Report

Board of Directors

The Cape Breton Partnership was formed with the idea of uniting businesses and communities across Cape Breton to drive the economy forward. The Partnership is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community leaders from the public and private sectors.

Brian Purchase

Board Chair

Schwartz Furniture

Dan MacDonald

Vice-Chair

DMDE Engineering Ltd.

Alisha Mombourquette

Treasurer

Grant Thornton

Tracey Boutilier

Executive Committee Member

Vibe Creative Group

Alyssia Jeddore

Executive Committee Member

Eskasoni Corporate

Sandra Kanchuk

Past Chair

Nova Scotia Power

Adam Bateman

BDC

Ron Blinkhorn

Casino Nova Scotia - Sydney

Paul Breski

Nova Scotia Power

Geoff Clarke

Port Hawkesbury Paper LP

Pearlene Cormier

East Coast Credit Union

Howie Doiron

Lindsay Construction

Darrell Gallant

Marine Atlantic

Storm Gould

We'koqma'q Corporate

Brad Jacobs

Colbourne Auto Group

Kelsea MacNeil

Membertou Corporate

Nicole Morrison

Mabel Systems

Mary Jane Morrison

Cape Breton University

Jen Ryan

Quincy Street Market

Vivek Saxena

Strait Area Campus, Nova Scotia Community College

James Wooder

JBW Consulting Inc.

Shaowei Xu

SW East International Trading & Consulting

Our Team

The team at the Cape Breton Partnership consists of an energetic and dedicated team of individuals with a broad range of skills and expertise, including project management, labour and immigration, communications and marketing, business planning, and economic development to name a few.

CONTACT US

Tyler Mattheis

President & Chief Executive Officer

902-562-0122

tyler@capebretonpartnership.com

Blayr Billard

Chief Operating Officer

902-562-0122

blayr@capebretonpartnership.com

Colleen Wheeliker

Strategic Relations Advisor

902-562-7182

colleen@capebretonpartnership.com

Jeremy Martell

Director of Communications

902-562-0122

jeremy@capebretonpartnership.com

Carly Appleton

Communications Coordinator

902-562-0122

carly@capebretonpartnership.com

Danielle Casagrande

Welcome Network Coordinator

902-562-0122

welcomenetwork@capebretonpartnership.com

Tyler Cole

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

902-562-0122

tcole@capebretonpartnership.com

Kate Collinet

Digital Marketing Specialist

902-562-0122

kate@capebretonpartnership.com

Bill Culp

Creative Economy Development Officer

9025620122

bill@capebretonpartnership.com

Michaela Epifano

Communications & Investor Relations Specialist

902-562-0122

michaela@capebretonpartnership.com

Parker Horton

Economic Development Officer, Victoria County

902-562-0122

parker@capebretonpartnership.com

Ashish Joy

Administrative Asssitant

902-562-0122

ashish@capebretonpartnership.com

Ocean Le

Cape Breton Connector Program Coordinator

902-562-0122

connector@capebretonpartnership.com

Jessica MacDonald

Human Resources Advisor

902-562-0122

jessica@capebretonpartnership.com

Kelly MacKinnon

Labour Market & Immigration Advisor

902-562-0122

kelly@capebretonpartnership.com

Lynne MacLennan

Economic Development Officer, Inverness County

902-631-5440

lynne@capebretonpartnership.com

Jennifer MacNeil

Green Energy Engagement Coordinator

902-562-0122

jennifer@capebretonpartnership.com

Dani Mombourquette

Immigration Engagement Coordinator

902-562-0122

dani@capebretonpartnership.com

Tara Paon

CBLIP Program Coordinator

902-562-0122

tara@capebretonpartnership.com

Kailea Pedley

Cape Breton Local Immigration Partnership Program Manager

902-258-7331

kailea@capebretonpartnership.com

Rachelle Samson

Economic Development Officer, Richmond County and Town of Port Hawkesbury

902-562-0122

rachelle@capebretonpartnership.com

Garrett Whittle

Finance and Payroll Coordinator

902-562-0122

garrett@capebretonpartnership.com

Lan Zheng

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

902-562-0122

lan@capebretonpartnership.com

Regional Enterprise Networks (RENs)

The Cape Breton Partnership provides economic development support to all five Municipalities on the Island, and four First Nation communities, under the Regional Enterprise Network (REN) model in partnership with the Province of Nova Scotia. The Cape Breton Regional Enterprise Network (CBREN) includes the First Nation Communities of Eskasoni, Membertou, Wagmatcook, and We’koqma’q; the Municipalities of the Counties of Inverness, Richmond, and Victoria; and the Town of Port Hawkesbury. The CBRM Regional Enterprise Network (CBRM REN) is represented by the Cape Breton Regional Municipality. Both RENs are a part of a larger network of Regional Enterprise Networks across Nova Scotia.

For more information on the CBREN and CBRM REN, click the below buttons which contain information on core activities, governance and oversight, current board members, and key delivery areas.

 

     

 

Through the Regional Enterprise Networks, Cape Breton Partnership staff are based across the region in Baddeck, Port Hood, Arichat, Port Hawkesbury, and Sydney.

For more information on local Unama’ki – Cape Breton communities, visit WelcomeToCapeBreton.ca and our developed community profiles.

The current Board of the CBREN includes:
Jen Ryan, Quincy Street Market (Co-Chair)
Adam Bateman, Business Development Bank of Canada (Co-Chair)
Alyssia Jeddore, Eskasoni Corporate Division
Kelsea MacNeil, Membertou Corporate
Vivek Saxena, NSCC Strait Area Campus
Geoff Clarke, Port Hawkesbury Paper
Pearlene Cormier, East Coast Credit Union

The current Board of the CBRM REN includes:
Tracey Boutilier, Vibe Creative Group (Chair)
Brad Jacobs, Colbourne Auto Group
Shaowei Xu, SW East International Trading & Consulting
Howie Doiron, Lindsay Construction
Darrell Gallant, Marine Atlantic
Ron Blinkhorn, Casino Nova Scotia – Sydney
Nicole Morrison, Two Men and a Truck