The Cape Breton Partnership brings together people who believe in the power of working together to increase economic opportunities and aims to transform Cape Breton-Unama’ki into the most creative and prosperous place on Earth.

Strategic Goals

The Cape Breton Partnership supports companies and entrepreneurs through our projects and initiatives by:


our island as a great place to live, work, and invest.


a culture that values and celebrates creativity, innovation, and entrepreneurship.


entrepreneurs and companies to the resources they need to succeed.

2020 - 2021

Year in Review

2020 - 2021

Year in Review

The 2020-2021 Year in Review includes an update on a number of initiatives, programs, and services the Cape Breton Partnership has led and carried out over that calendar year.

View Report

Board of Directors

The Cape Breton Partnership was formed with the idea of uniting businesses and communities across Cape Breton to drive the economy forward. The Partnership is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of community leaders from the public and private sectors.

Brian Purchase


Schwartz Furniture

Dan MacDonald

Executive Member


Rob Wadden


Grant Thornton

Sandra Kanchuk

Board Chair

Seaside Wireless Communications Inc.

Adam Bateman


Allan Eddy

Port Hawkesbury Paper LP

Alyssia Jedore

Eskasoni Corporate

Brad Jacobs

Colbourne Auto Group

Damien Barry

Louisbourg Seafoods

Howie Doiron

Lindsay Construction

James Wooder

JBW Consulting Inc.

Jen Ryan

Quincy Street Market

Jennifer Martin

Membertou First Nation

Osborne Burke

Victoria Co-operative Fisheries Ltd.

Paul Breski

Nova Scotia Power

Ron Blinkhorn

Casino Nova Scotia - Sydney

Shaowei Xu

SW East International Trading & Consulting

Tracey Boutilier

Vibe Creative Group

Vivek Saxena

Strait Area Campus, Nova Scotia Community College

Our Team

The team at the Cape Breton Partnership consists of an energetic and dedicated team of individuals with a broad range of skills and expertise, including project management, labour and immigration, communications and marketing, business planning, and economic development to name a few.


Tyler Mattheis

President & Chief Executive Officer


Ashton Bishop



Ayha El-Darahali

Manager, Workplace Inclusion Charter


Bill Culp

Creative Economy Development Officer


Blayr Billard

Director of Finance and Administration


Carly Appleton

Communications Coordinator


Colleen Wheeliker

Executive Assistant


Courtney Jennex

Administrative Coordinator


Denis Thibeault

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality


Erica Holgate

Economic Development Officer, Victoria County


Jeremy Martell

Director of Communications


Jessica MacDonald

Human Resources Advisor


Kailea Pedley

Cape Breton Local Immigration Partnership Program Manager


Kate Collinet

Digital Marketing Specialist


Kelly MacKinnon

Labour Market & Immigration Advisor


Lan Zheng

Economic Development Officer, Cape Breton Regional Municipality


Lynne MacLennan

Economic Development Officer, Inverness County


Megan Watt

Economic Development Officer, Richmond County & Town of Port Hawkesbury


Michaela Epifano

Communications & Events Coordinator


Norma Jean MacPhee

Cape Breton Welcome Network Coordinator


Regional Enterprise Networks (RENs)

The Cape Breton Partnership provides economic development support to all five Municipalities on the Island, and four First Nation communities, under the Regional Enterprise Network (REN) model in partnership with the Province of Nova Scotia. The Cape Breton Regional Enterprise Network (CBREN) includes the First Nation Communities of Eskasoni, Membertou, Wagmatcook, and We’koqma’q; the Municipalities of the Counties of Inverness, Richmond, and Victoria; and the Town of Port Hawkesbury. The CBRM Regional Enterprise Network (CBRM REN) is represented by the Cape Breton Regional Municipality. Both RENs are a part of a larger network of Regional Enterprise Networks across Nova Scotia.

For more information on the CBREN and CBRM REN, review the updated overview documents (updated May 2022) below which contain information on core activities, governance and oversight, current board members, and key delivery areas.



Through the Regional Enterprise Networks, Cape Breton Partnership staff are based across the region in Baddeck, Port Hood, Arichat, Port Hawkesbury, and Sydney.

For more information on local Cape Breton – Unama’ki communities, visit and our developed community profiles.

The current Board of the CBREN includes:

Allan Eddy, Port Hawkesbury Paper 
Osborne Burke, Victoria Co-op Fisheries 
Alyssia Jeddore, Eskasoni Corporate Division
Vivek Saxena, NSCC Strait Area Campus
Adam Bateman, Business Development Bank of Canada 
Jen Ryan, Quincy Street Market
Jennifer Martin, Membertou First Nation

The current Board of the CBRM REN includes:
Tracey Boutilier, Vibe Creative Group
Brad Jacobs, Colbourne Auto Group
Damien Barry, Louisbourg Seafoods
Howie Doiron, Lindsay Construction
James Wooder, JBW Consulting
Ron Blinkhorn, Casino Nova Scotia – Sydney