The Cape Breton Partnership is proud to host the Vital Cape Breton Excellence Awards at Centre 200 on November 20 from 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. The Awards were created to honour young Cape Bretoners and local employers who are making a significant impact in their community or workplace through their commitment to making Cape Breton-Mulgrave a better place to live, work and play.


The Vital Awards capture the essence of Cape Breton’s up-and-coming generation, with the event bringing together like-minded people who are doing great things for Cape Breton-Mulgrave. The Partnership invites you to attend a vibrant evening that will highlight the achievements made by individuals and organizations that are helping to make Cape Breton a more rewarding place to live and do business.


The 2014 Vital Cape Breton Excellence Award Winners:


Vital Excellence Award Winners:

Shannon and Ryan Costello – Groovy Goat Farm and Soap Company

Erin Pyke-Forsey – Cape Breton District Health Authority and Healthy Living Activist

Amanda McDougall – Main-A-Dieu Community Advocate and Volunteer

Bryan Picard – The Bite House, Head Chef

Rob Calabrese and Erika Shea – The Turnip

Leah Noble –Dream Big Cape Breton Blogger, and Horizon Achievement Centre Employee

Alyce MacLean – CBC Mainstreet Contributor, Board Member of New Dawn Enterprises and Community Volunteer

Robyn Cathcart – Tenor, Stage Director and Voice Teacher

Dawn Beaton – Artistic Director, Celtic Colours International Festival and Ambassador of Cape Breton

Jenni Welsh – Videographer and Community Volunteer

Frankie MacDonald – Weatherman and Cape Breton Ambassador

Melanie Beaton – Mabou Community Playground Committee Chair and Volunteer

Peter and Ben Leblanc – Scenic Valley Farm


Vital Employer Award Winners:

Stephen Lilley – President, Protocase

John MacNeil – Partner, Grant Thornton

Carol Pendergast – Executive Director, Horizon Achievement Centre

Darren Gallop – Marcato Digital Solutions

Ben Cowan-Dewar – Cabot Links


Vital Employee Award Winners:

Gavin Andrews – Research and Development Manager, Protocase

David Farmer – Life Work Centre Director, Breton Ability Centre

Danielle Johnston – Manager of Annual Giving, Cape Breton Regional Hospital Foundation

Krista Lee – Youth in Action, Port Hawkesbury YMCA

Joline Vassallo  – Financial Services Officer, Sydney Credit Union



Join us for a casual celebrations reception with hors d’oeuvres and live music. DJ Wobblefish will be spinning some of his original remixes and electronic beats throughout the awards ceremony and folk-rock group The Jordan Musycsyn Band will close out the evening.


Tickets can be purchased for $20 + tax online, or by calling the Partnership office at 902-562-0122.


Date: Thursday, November 20

Location: Centre 200, Sydney

Time:5:30 p.m.  – 6:30 p.m.     Reception with DJ Wobblefish

6:30 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.      Awards

8:00 p.m. – 9:30 p.m.      Live Music with Jordan Musycsyn Band


This is an all ages event.

For more information visit the Vital Cape Breton Excellence Awards website or phone 902-562-0122.