(SYDNEY, NS) – The Cape Breton Partnership, in collaboration with the NextGen Unama’ki Leadership Society, is pleased to announce the Vital Award Winners for 2020. The seventh annual Vital Cape Breton Excellence Awards was held virtually on Sunday December 13, 2020 and more than 130 tuned in to watch live.

The seventh annual Vital Awards celebrated individuals between the ages of 16 – 40 who have made a significant impact in their community or workplace. The Awards also honour employers who recognize the importance of giving youth and young professionals meaningful work experience.

The winners were as follows:

Vital Excellence Award – Nominees are individuals who have played a vital role in their community through volunteerism, culture, leadership, innovation, etc.​

  • Nicole Deveau-LeBlanc
  • Jill MacPherson
  • Jourdan MacNeil-MacIntyre
  • Brittany MacLean
  • Malcolm MacLeod

Vital Employee Excellence Award – Employers can nominate an employee who has played a vital role in their workplace in Cape Breton.

  • Mike Pearson
  • Nolan McDougall
  • Kayla Cormier
  • Carolyn Trenholm-MacDonald
  • Stephanie Canova
  • Bruce Barrington (Special Recognition)

Vital Employer Excellence Award – Recognizes employers who have played a vital role in creating rewarding employment opportunities for youth in Cape Breton.

  • New Dawn Enterprises Inc
  • LOVE Membertou
  • Talem Health Analytics
  • Breton Brewing Co.
  • CB Holistic Health

Although the event was unable to happen in person, the live format was a great way to engage people from all across Cape Breton and beyond.  “As a new business owner in Cape Breton, I feel deeply honoured that my peers and community come together to celebrate what we have all accomplished together,” said Jill MacPherson, owner and operator of Island Folk cider House.

Sixteen Cape Bretoners and organizations were awarded on Sunday night encouraging the commitment to making Cape Breton a more vibrant and exciting place to live, work and play.

The Cape Breton Partnership and the NextGen Unama’ki Leadership Society want to extend their appreciation to all who joined in celebrating Cape Breton’s youth and their employers. For more information about the Vital Cape Breton Excellence Awards, visit the NextGen Cape Breton website.


Media Contacts:
Allison MacDonald, NextGen Unama’ki co-chair

Erin Gallagher Lynk, NextGen Unama’ki co-chair

NextGen Unama’ki co-chairs Allison MacDonald and Erin Gallagher Lynk hosted the 2020 Vital Awards Virtually on facebook live on December 13, 2020.