Cape Breton Regional Municipality

Cape Breton Regional Municipality (CBRM) was created in 1995 through the amalgamation of eight municipalities in Cape Breton County. As a result, CBRM accounts for 74% of Cape Breton’s population. CBRM is home to Sydney, the second largest urban area in the province and the largest in Cape Breton. There are also two First Nation Communities within the CBRM—Membertou and Eskasoni.

The CBRM is home to some of Cape Breton’s largest institutions, including Cape Breton University, the Nova Scotia Community College Marconi Campus, and the Canadian Coast Guard College. Rural areas of CBRM host resource industries such as agriculture, fishing, and industrial production.

In the CBRM, you will find downtowns in the midst of transformation, infrastructure that offers businesses a competitive edge and a warm welcoming community ready to embrace you and your family. Connected to the world by road, water and air, the CBRM offers easy access to national and international markets. The J.A. Douglas McCurdy Airport is located just a 15 minute drive away from downtown Sydney and is equipped with two Instrument Landing System (ILS) runways allowing the airport to handle most commercial jet traffic.

CBRM-focused Reports